What is biodiversity and its conservation?

What is Biodiversity Conservation? Biodiversity conservation is the protection and management of biodiversity to obtain resources for sustainable development. Biodiversity conservation has three main objectives: To preserve the diversity of species. Sustainable utilization of species and ecosystem.

What is biodiversity and it’s conservation?

Biodiversity conservation refers to the protection, preservation, and management of ecosystems and natural habitats and ensuring that they are healthy and functional. The three main objectives of Biodiversity Conservation are as follows- To protect and preserve species diversity.

Whats is biodiversity?

Biodiversity is all the different kinds of life you’ll find in one area—the variety of animals, plants, fungi, and even microorganisms like bacteria that make up our natural world. Each of these species and organisms work together in ecosystems, like an intricate web, to maintain balance and support life.

What are the types of conservation of biodiversity?

In situ conservation

  • National parks and sanctuaries.
  • Biosphere reserves.
  • Nature reserves.
  • Reserved and protected forests.
  • Preservation plots.
  • Reserved forests.

What is Biodiversity Conservation in India?

India is signatory to several major international conventions relating to conservation and management of wildlife. Some of these are Convention on Biological Diversity, Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES) etc.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  How can we reduce waste other than recycling?

How is biodiversity conserved class 10?

Biodiversity can be conserved by

1) Protecting the rare species of organisms. 2) Establishing national parks and sanctuaries. 3) Declaring some regions as ‘bioreserves’. 4) Projects for the conservation of special species.

What is biodiversity with example?

Most people recognize biodiversity by species—a group of individual living organisms that can interbreed. Examples of species include blue whales, white-tailed deer, white pine trees, sunflowers, and microscopic bacteria that can’t even be seen by the naked eye.

What are the 3 types of biodiversity?

Usually three levels of biodiversity are discussed—genetic, species, and ecosystem diversity.

What is biodiversity and its type?

Biodiversity refers to the variety of species both flora and fauna present in an area. It can be classified into following three types: Genetic diversity: It is the diversity within species. Species Diversity: It is the diversity between species. ecosystem diversity: It is the diversity between ecosystems.

What is conservation types of conservation?

Conservation can broadly be divided into two types: In-situ: Conservation of habitats, species and ecosystems where they naturally occur. … Ex-situ: The conservation of elements of biodiversity out of the context of their natural habitats is referred to as ex-situ conservation.

What are the 4 types of conservation?

What are the 4 types of conservation?

  • Environmental Conservation.
  • Animal conservation.
  • Marine Conservation.
  • Human Conservation.

What is the need of biodiversity conservation?

Conservation of biodiversity is important to: – prevent the loss of genetic diversity of a species, save a species from becoming extinct, and protect ecosystems damage and degradation.

IT IS IMPORTANT:  Why are nutrients carried into aquatic ecosystems?

Why is conservation of India’s biodiversity important?

In fact, the very existence of human species and sustainable development depend on biodiversity conservation. Both in-situ and ex-situ conservation have been part of the cultural traditions in India. By recognizing the role of community in such conservation, these traditions can be revitalized (Swaminathan, 2000).